travel, Uncategorized

68 | A M S T E R D A M !

Part 2: ART! 

As I have already said, walking through Amsterdam was like witnessing artwork in so many forms. Whether it was the never ending rows upon rows of beautiful buildings, to the bridges adorned with beautiful colourful flowers and bikes just parked along them. Everywhere we looked, it was a picture perfect moment.

Even the rows of bicycles lined up were such a beautiful and refreshing sight to see. We also got to see a Boatel (someday, I will live in you boat hotel….someday) and comically tiny cars fit for a person of my height, which is surprising given how tall everyone was in the Netherlands.

 

 

I loved seeing people ride their bikes along the roads, men in suits, children so young riding with their parents. Some parents even had bikes with side cars! I especially enjoyed seeing all the lovely ladies on their bikes in their dresses and heels, that’s right! High stiletto heels…while riding a bike. I was so impressed.

The street art was such a pleasure to see as well, the graffiti was brilliant and always fun to spot, the sculptures brilliant to see, and the thrill of just seeing things that make you laugh. Like the pharmacy with the periodic table as their window showcase or that one photograph from that one restaurant that was just so bad-ass. You’ll know which one. *wink

 

Let’s not forget the actual art museums! We were able to see the Rijks Museum, the Van Gogh museum (omg) and the Banksy art exhibition (omg) at the Moco Museum!

I didn’t take a lot of photos but one place I held sacredly was the Van Gogh museum where I did not take any photos at all. It was such a special art filled day and a lot of emotions came up while appreciating the works of so many great artists. Here’s a look at some of them.

I loved everything about Amsterdam, I can’t wait to go back.

-Dee

*Museum posts coming soon!

My Illustration Dee-05

Leave a comment