My Wedding, Uncategorized

46 | Planning a Wedding (so far)

We all know it’s the most romantic and happy time of your life when you are planning your own wedding.

We also know that it’s absolute insanity too.

How on earth are we supposed to find balance and manage to have fun when you’re stressed out, not sleeping well or crying about wanting to lose weight while simultaneously eating copious amounts of junk food in bed?

Well, the biggest thing I believe is that you shouldn’t force yourself to have a good time ALL. THE. TIME. It’s not normal. If you’re stressed out and feeling like crying, do that. If you’re so happy you want to scream, do it! WHOOOO!!!!!

Feel it all! Because planning a wedding is full of different levels of love, stress and a lot of moments of CRAZY. Everything will happen whether you like it or not, so just go with the flow, as they say.

Right now I feel pretty stuck in the stress/crazy mode. There are two months left till my wedding and oh-look at that, I just started sweating. Yes there are only TWO months left to get it all done, and it’s not just the wedding and reception, people. This is an INDIAN wedding, so there are several events that need to be planned and in my case, events are happening between two different countries. YEAH. It’s actually insane and I find myself switching back and forth between full on PANIC and an unnatural calm.

It’s also really hard to do everything because you are constantly trying to do your best at work, home and for the wedding. Getting upset about one tiny detail feels like you’re starting a war at home, or sitting at work wondering why you’re so tired makes you feel guilty. Or when things go right and you feel calm or relieved, the anxiety creeps up again making you second guess things all over again.

BUT LISTEN! It’s okay to feel this way! (Indirectly telling myself). It gets really stressful but it is, as they say, the best time of your life and something that you need to be really present for.

So in order to do this, as best as I could, I decided pretty early on that, to really be able to focus my mind on these moments as they happen, I’d get a wedding Journal and write down my feelings or prayers or to plans for the next year ahead.

This ended up becoming three journals quite quickly.

1522394689841.jpg

Each journal is now a moment or stage in this journey and it’s actually really cool to see exactly what my thoughts were the day we confirmed the wedding date. Or to see my hopes and dreams that I felt last year become a reality or become far more than what you could have imagined.

It’s truly special to have these memories and I will continue to journal until and after the wedding.

books-01.jpg

I would advise you to do the same for planning your wedding, or even to just document your personal life. Especially because looking back at your thoughts from a year ago can be a really hilarious experience.

-Dee

ma gurls-11

Leave a comment