17 | 27 things I’ve Learnt in 27 Years

It’s my birthday! Here are some things I’ve learnt along the years.

  1. Your handshake says a lot about you.

This is something I learnt when I was about 19 years old, and it’s a lesson I carry with me where ever I go. The handshake principal isn’t just for men, ladies. A woman with a good handshake will earn just as much respect.

 2. It’s never too late to learn something new.

You already know this, but I’m still hopeful that in the years to come, I will learn to do ballet, a handstand, surf, and learn sign language.

 3. Make time for your friends.

Don’t be one of those girls that makes her whole world about her boyfriend/girlfriend. Remember, your friends were there before your significant other. And they will ALWAYS be there for you. Don’t ignore them honey, they will notice.

 4. Quality over Quantity.

The amount of friends on your Facebook means as much as a pebble on the beach shore. Surround yourself with the friends who truly are there for you and who care about you the most. You will never regret this.

   5. OMG Mom was right about everything.

Dammit. She was. Mothers may be human, and they will make mistakes from time to time, but when a mom gives her child advice, I suggest you listen.

     6. Never cry in front of your superiors.

This is something I do which may or may not be entierly healthy, but I think it’s very important. Crying in front of your lecturers or bosses to me just shows your weakness. Go home and cry, Girl! Don’t give them the satisfaction of knowing that they got to you. Be strong! Cry at home.

 7. You’re never too old to watch cartoons.

I am that one weird adult that will be waiting in line to watch the newest Animated film and I am not ashamed! I love animated movies and cartoons. There are some really good ones out there. Don’t just stick to The Simpsons, try more!

8. Drinking alone is actually really cool.

Especially on those nights when you don’t feel like going out, you can just curl up in bed, movies playing with that glass of wine in hand. Bliss!

 9. Learn to keep your mouth shut.

Your opinion isn’t always wanted or needed. I am still learning to do this.

10. Nobody woke up like this.

Seriously, people! No one wakes up looking fly as hell! We all have the remains of last night’s eyeliner in the corner of our eyes, all crusty and disgusting. No one’s hair is perfect and all those pimples are out to play. Stop thinking that the Instagram photos are real.

     11. Being weird is incredibly validating.

I love the fact that I’m considered a Geek or a Nerd. I AM a Harry Potter fanatic and I AM obsessed with Wonder Woman and I DO love to watch children’s movies. Let me be!

12. Work Smart, Not Hard.

This is something I’ve been trying to master since University. As a Designer, I just stick to what I need to achieve and I stopped trying to be better than everyone else. Let your work do all the talking.

   13. It’s okay to need help, and its even better to ask for it.

We are all Human. No one ever really has their Sh*t together. Asking for help doesn’t make you weak, it just means you’re ready to handle it.

     14. Learn to do things yourself.

Don’t be that girl that needs a man to do every tiny thing. Move that heavy couch to the next room! Assemble that piece of furniture by yourself! Carry that heavy sh*t up the stairs! Buy yourself that car! Of course we love to just hand it over to the ‘big strong men’ and be Queens but you know what? Doing it yourself makes you a warrior. Ask for help only when needed, ladies.

15. Surround yourself with people you respect.

Those are the people who will always keep you humble.

16. Remember, Wonder Woman has bad days too.

It’s okay to have a day where you’re feeling down and you don’t know why. It’s okay to have a day when nothing goes right. It’s okay to have a week, a month or months of things going South no matter how hard you try. Just remember to not quit.

17. If it bothers you, say something.

Don’t let people think it’s okay to say things to you that make you feel uncomfortable. You don’t have to be mean about it, but saying something lets them know that you’re not okay with it.

 18. Don’t lose your passion!

Try your best not to. I haven’t painted in months, but I will make time to! Painting makes me who I am, so I will always make sure that I never lose it.

     19. Try New Things.

How will you know if you won’t like it, if you won’t try it?

 20. Try to travel as much as possible.

I know that we live in an expensive world, but dammit I want to see it all.

 21. Being Independent is Amazing…ly hard.

Be responsible with your independence. It will be so worth it. Try your best not to depend on anyone for as long as you can. And SAVE SAVE SAVE!

     22. Love will find you.

And it will be wonderful, more than you can imagine. Relationships are never easy, but having someone to share life with is a good thing too.

 23. But it won’t feed you.

One of the lessons from my mom. Love is better than anything else, but it won’t feed you. Make something of yourself. Be an independent woman and always save. So that down the line, should you be put into a situation, you can feed yourself and your children. Thanks mom.

 24. Fight until you get what you want.

Push! Try! Work! Fight! You WILL get that promotion, you WILL come first! You WILL get that car! You WILL get over him! You WILL be independent. You get it?

25. The best times of your life are always happening Right NOW.

Stop waiting for the future for things to be better. Make the best of it now! Tomorrow is not certain, so live today as happily as you can. If you have that bad day, come home from school or work and make time for yourself to do something that will make you happy.

   26. Always give back.

Always. We are far more privileged than we can imagine.

   27. Everything will be okay. Really.

– Dee

 

 

Leave a Reply

